Historum - History Forums  

Go Back   Historum - History Forums > Themes in History > History Book Reviews
Register Forums Blogs Social Groups Mark Forums Read

History Book Reviews History Book Review Forum - Discussion of Non Fiction Books and Historical Novels


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 14th, 2017, 03:24 PM   #21

Ascendant's Avatar
Academician
 
Joined: Feb 2016
From: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 76
Blog Entries: 30

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mise Eire View Post
I'd rather read about 20th century Ireland -- to me, it's absolutely fascinating.

Last time I was in Dublin, I spent four figures at Hodges Figgis.
Ah, good ol' H&R, my spiritual Newgrange!
Ascendant is offline  
Remove Ads
Old November 19th, 2017, 10:14 PM   #22
Citizen
 
Joined: Nov 2017
From: Australia
Posts: 3

hi there! It’s great site. so many topics and opinions. I used to read, basically https://www.washingtonpost.com but now your site one of my favorites. Thank you!
Billy901 is offline  
Old May 27th, 2018, 09:13 AM   #23

Ascendant's Avatar
Academician
 
Joined: Feb 2016
From: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 76
Blog Entries: 30

Out of the Ashes: An Oral History of the Provisional Irish Republican Movement, by Robert White (2017)


Quote:
The extraordinary thing about the people detailed in this book is how much they loathed each other. Distrust, intolerance, the splits that occurred with clockwork frequency, the resultant trauma lingering on for years on end – all from people ostensibly on the same side. “Great hatred, little room,” wrote W.B. Yeats of Ireland, and nowhere is that truer than here.

But then, perhaps it is an attitude inevitable among those who consider themselves at war, where trust and forbearance are not necessarily virtues. “I’m suspicious of everyone,” Ruairí Ó Brádaigh put it to the book’s author. Robert White had known him for almost twenty years but did not consider himself an exception. Considering Ó Brádaigh’s situation, White thought it prudent advice.

Click the image to open in full size.
Ascendant is offline  
Reply

  Historum > Themes in History > History Book Reviews

Tags
book, irish, review, reviews



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brief Book Reviews: Japanese History leakbrewergator History Book Reviews 179 July 20th, 2017 04:12 PM
New History Book about Spain's California Conquests and Peninsula Missions: Reviews David K History Book Reviews 6 November 3rd, 2016 10:33 AM
Brief Book reviews: Communist Russian History! TotalAaron History Book Reviews 18 May 11th, 2016 02:44 AM
Book Reviews in one sentence Gile na Gile History Book Reviews 26 April 30th, 2014 01:13 PM
Irish War of Independence - book recommendations Arty Fufkin History Book Reviews 19 March 25th, 2011 02:46 PM

Copyright © 2006-2013 Historum. All rights reserved.