Historum - History Forums

Historum - History Forums (http://historum.com/)
-   History Book Reviews (http://historum.com/history-book-reviews/)
-   -   Your favorite historian? (http://historum.com/history-book-reviews/48493-your-favorite-historian.html)

ucanefan October 17th, 2012 07:16 AM

Your favorite historian?
 
I really only do American history so that's why I'm posting here but it doesn't have to be an American historian although preferably. I don't know too many but so far I like Joseph Ellis and the obvious David McCullough.

asnys October 17th, 2012 08:56 AM

Richard Hewlett (The New World, The Atomic Shield, and Atoms for War and Peace), Richard Rhodes (Dark Sun), and Fred Kaplan (The Wizards of Armageddon). But my area of interest is somewhat esoteric.

Edit to Add: Also, Spencer Weart (Nuclear Fear).

avon October 17th, 2012 09:09 AM

Ian Kershaw,
D C Watt,
Gerhard Weinberg,
Richard Overy,
David Dutton,
Rupert Christiansen,
Anthony Levi,
George Rude,
Ross King,
Ian Ousby,
Tony Judt,
David Reynolds,
Donald Bloxham,
Lauro Martines,
Roy Porter,
Mary Fulbrook,
Norman Rose,
Edmund S. Morgan,
Philip D. Morgan,
Robert Dallek,
Robert Service.

tjadams October 17th, 2012 09:25 AM

My tastes are a close hybrid of author/historian.
Andrew Burstein
Stephen L. Hardin
William C. Davis
Thomas J. DiLorenzo
H.W. Brands
John Ferling
David McCullough

yakmatt October 17th, 2012 10:09 AM

Steven Ambrose
Shelby Foote

Baltis October 17th, 2012 10:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjadams (Post 1228630)
My tastes are a close hybrid of author/historian.
Andrew Burstein
Stephen L. Hardin
William C. Davis
Thomas J. DiLorenzo
H.W. Brands
John Ferling
David McCullough

Excellent choices. I don't really know Andrew Burstein or Thomas DiLorenzo but those others represent some fine choices for TX and the founding era. I really liked John Ferling's Almost a Miracle for the revolution.

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/Almost-Miracle-American-Victory-Independence/dp/0195382927/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1350494105&sr=8-1&keywords=Almost+a+miracle"]Almost A Miracle: The American Victory in the War of Independence: John Ferling: 9780195382921: Amazon.com: Books@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/511IMS1AReL.@@AMEPARAM@@511IMS1AReL[/ame]

For early TX:

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/Pirates-Laffite-Treacherous-World-Corsairs/dp/B001P3OM1Y/ref=sr_1_6?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1350494148&sr=1-6&keywords=William+C+Davis"]The Pirates Laffite: The Treacherous World of the Corsairs of the Gulf: William C. Davis: Amazon.com: Books@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51QVJV33FXL.@@AMEPARAM@@51QVJV33FXL[/ame]

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/Three-Roads-Alamo-Fortunes-Crockett/dp/0060930942/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1350494148&sr=1-1&keywords=William+C+Davis"]Three Roads to the Alamo: The Lives and Fortunes of David Crockett,James Bowie,and William Barret Travis: William C. Davis: 9780060930943: Amazon.com: Books@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51ftRrYruIL.@@AMEPARAM@@51ftRrYruIL[/ame]

tjadams October 17th, 2012 10:18 AM

^I have two of those books. :)

Baltis October 17th, 2012 10:20 AM

To add a personal favorite or two:

John Buchanan for the Southern Campaigns of the American Revolution

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/Road-Guilford-Courthouse-Revolution-Carolinas/dp/0471327166/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1350494279&sr=1-1&keywords=John+Buchanan"]The Road to Guilford Courthouse: The American Revolution in the Carolinas: John Buchanan: 9780471327165: Amazon.com: Books@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/516RJ3A4F3L.@@AMEPARAM@@516RJ3A4F3L[/ame]

For other historians, I really enjoyed:

Edward Cashin
Robert Bass
Samuel Cole Williams

but there are so many?

Baltis October 17th, 2012 10:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjadams (Post 1228678)
^I have two of those books. :)

If you are missing the Lafitte book, I highly recommend it to you. Very interesting stuff about the early filibusters in TX. I think you are one to really enjoy it. :)

Baltis October 17th, 2012 10:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by yakmatt (Post 1228675)
Steven Ambrose
Shelby Foote

I have hated the attack on Stephen Ambrose for many years now. He made the mistake along the way of making his relationship with Eisenhower seem like more than it was. Later on when some folk wanted to vilify him for some totally different things, they crucified him with it.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Copyright © 2006-2013 Historum. All rights reserved.