Ancient travel

Apr 2016
Scotland
Okay, to make a long story short, I'm studying games development. As part of world building and plot structuring of a specific concept I'm trying to flesh out, I need to figure something out. It'll sound a bit odd, but bear with me.

In the late 1200's, 1290 to be specific, just a few years after the death of King Alexander III, assuming they have the necessary supplies, how long would it take a farming family of three, a man, a woman, and a 4 year old child, to get from the highlands of Scotland, to the Iga province of Japan. This is assuming minimal negative encounters with other humans, and they aren't going through England. They haven't got that location specifically in mind, but they are moving in that direction.

If you need more details, I'll try my best to answer, thanks.

AlpinLuke

Forum Staff
Oct 2011
Italy, Lago Maggiore
According to who did it for real in that period it took years. For example Marco Polo, according to what it's reported in "Il Milione", traveling through Asia took a bit more than 3 years to reach the Chinese far east [so with a vessel it was a matter of some days to reach Japan]. He left from Venice.

Anyway the reasons for the journey of Polo were particular and he spent a lot of time to run his business.

So, I would start reminding that in XIII century they walked, usually with one or some donkeys or mules to transports goods, food, water, cloths ... Let's say that our farming family found a vessel in Dundee [which was a Royal Burgh] to navigate to the continent. I have walked through the Scottish Highlands [covering 30km per day] so that, considering that it was a family with a children, I tend to think that they would have covered 15 km per day.

From Western Highlands to Dundee I guess it took about 12-15 days for a family.