Architects working in the fields of History & Archeology

May 2011
Bulgaria
Hi there!
I am opening this thread with the hope that anyone professionally occupied with history can share their experience with architects.

But first some backstory!
Since early childhood I have always been fascinated with history and this interest of mine has never waned.
Despite this, I never pursued a career in the field, since my parent's (and unfortunately my own) impression is that the income is not good enough to support a family. So, I am currently studying architecture which is actually very creative and inspiring.
I've had History of Architecture courses every year but this time I am working on a project involving the settlements from Antiquity near my home town. And this is when I have felt my biggest satisfaction every since I was accepted in the university.
This leads me to the question:

What are my options as an architect if I want to get involved in the fields of history and archeology?

I have already chosen my graduation and pre-graduation works in Residential Architecture (>higher chance of finding a job here). I hope I'll work strictly as an architect until I am able to settle.
But once this is achieved I will be looking for any chance to achieve the cross point between my two passions.

Evaluation, restoration, preservation, reconstruction of historical sites is what comes on top of my mind. My university offers some courses on these fields and I've booked myself already for next semester. I don't have much detail on how the actual work feels like.
Besides that, what is the prospect on being a self-funded off-the-clock enthusiast?

Any info and advice is more than welcome!
Thanks in advance!

Toltec

Ad Honorem
Apr 2008
Hyperborea