Best Foreign Language for a History Major?

Hello everyone. :)

This is my first post to the forum, although I've been a member here for a while. While I haven't had much to contribute, I've read through a lot of threads here, and there is some great information to be found on this forum. Absolutely fantastic. I'm a young college student just starting out on my degree. I'm going to be majoring in History.

In my college, we are required to take a foreign language for at least two years, and I plan on selecting a language to turn into a double major along with History. For example, if I was to take German I would continue after the two years and take upper level courses to make my degree a History/German Studies double major.

My question to everyone here at the forum is what would be the most beneficial foreign language for a history major to learn? I'm in my first semester of college right now and I'm enrolled in Latin. I'm going to be dropping that next semester to take a "real" language. While Latin is fascinating, I want to learn a language that I can use to communicate with other people. :)

I'm honestly interested in all areas of world history, but I have a great interest in Medieval Studies as well as Classical Civilizations.

Right now I'm strongly considering Italian, but I'm also considering German or Portuguese.

Forgive me if I posted this in the wrong forum. This seemed to be the best choice. If anyone needs clarification on my question, please feel free to ask me anything! :)

What's the best foreign language for a History Major to learn!?

Aug 2012
Colorado