Byzantium - Cultural Identity?

May 2009
So here's something I've been wondering in my recent readings on Byzantium.

How to culturally identify the empire?

Would you call it Greek or Roman?

I'm new to the subject and so call upon the much more experienced scholars of this field for guidance.

Aug 2009
The minds of the Admins
The 'Byzantine' Empire was actually the Roman Empire the inhabitants called themselves Romaioi (Romans) and the the correct name of the Capital was actually Nova Roma the Term Byzantium and Byzantine originates from the name of the fishing town Nova Roma was built on and so that was the origin of the Term Byzantine which was never used by the Romaioi it was a traders term used by Europeans the Europeans also called them Greeks as well. But the Romaioi were Romans.

So yes IMO I would say they were Roman or: Romaioi

Aug 2009
The minds of the Admins
True however they still called themselves Romaioi and their rulers still took Latin names granterd there were strong elements of Greek culture but they were still Roman.

I'm a Yankee but I have strong elements of southern culture but I'm still a Yankee

sturm

Ad Honorem
Jul 2009
Bulgaria
Sure thats true.
However sometimes people in Byzantium called themself christians, which maybe was more important then nationality.
Also lets not forget that Byzantium empire is a mix of many races..

Jun 2009
California
There's an added complication, for there are actually two questions here:

1) How long did the Byzantines go on thinking of themselves as Romans?

2) How long did everyone else go on thinking of the Byzantines as Romans?

In theory, one could have had a situation where the Arabs or the Moors thought of the Byzantines as heirs to the Roman tradition while the Byzantines thought of themselves as... I dunno... Japanese or something. And contemporary Byzantine sources, like the Secret History of Procopius, are hard to interpret because of that strong religious element sturm remarked on in his post.