Cost of a College Education

Edratman

Ad Honorem
Feb 2009
Eastern PA
Over the years I have been appalled at both the alarming increase in the cost of a college education and the unjustified spread of the requirement for a college degree for positions that did not require a degree 40 years ago. Night shift manager at the Dollar store - C'mon? Fireman- Why?

I graduated from a prestigious engineering school in 1973 and the total cost of my 4 year Engineering degree was less than $14K. Today at the same college, the $14K my degree cost would cover my college education costs all the way up to the first week of October, freshman year. Correspondingly, my starting salary was $11K and starting wages today are about five times that.

So the cost of the degree has increased by a factor of 18 and earnings have multiplied by only a factor of 5. (I leave the deficit math to you.)

The past 40 years have produced a number of reports and explanations for this upward cost spiral; professor salaries, government regulation, need to upgrade dorms to attract students, declining enrollment........ Not a one of these excuses really explained the problem to me.

Today I came across an article that makes sense on the increase in college costs. It does have a bit of a conspiracy component to it that bothers me; I do not believe in conspiracies that involve more than a handful of people.

The article is a long read and I quite aware that it will likely, and sadly, be deemed TLDR by way too many people.

Here is a link to the article and... part of the conclusion:

Colleges are full of it: Behind the three-decade scheme to raise tuition, bankrupt generations and hypnotize the media