Dinaosaurs extinction question

Feb 2016
France
Hello everyone,

I'm here to discuss a little about the dinosaurs, i'm not an expert, and i just want to know if, actually, we are shure about the event that killed all those big guys ?

It is definitely a meteorite ?

I've seen that the earth's magnetic poles can be reversed, and eventually when this happen the magnetic protective field of our planet could be turned off during an unknown period... could this type of event be at the origin of a massive extinction ?

Jun 2015
Scotland
There is a thin layer of rock worldwide which is 65 million years old. It contains elements that could only have come from a asteroid or comet. The crater of the impact can still be seen in geological surveys of the the Yukatan Peninsula and Mexican Gulf.
Below this layer, lots of Dinosaurs. Above the layer non. Not completely conclusive evidence but if I were a betting man.........

Jan 2015
MD, USA
I actually saw a show on the Chixilub asteroid and the K-T boundary, long ago (pre-dating the History Channel, when TV documentaries were still respectable and not "EXXXXTREEEEEEM!!!"), and the scientist said that the number of dinosaur fossils and species was apparently dropping steadily long before the asteroid hit. And that the same species *are* found above the layer, for a depth implying a couple thousand years at least. *Then* they go away.

Maybe he was the only one saying such a thing, while smoking crack? Maybe everyone else is just parroting a neato cool theory? And it IS neato cool, don't get me wrong! And I certainly don't doubt that the asteroid hit, that's the coolest part, really.

So I don't know, and I don't know who does know. It's a good *theory*...

Matthew

kazeuma

Ad Honorem
Jun 2012
There is another option that could also gone along with the meteor that hit Mexico.