Egyptian, Greek, Roman Empire... a little confused...

Jun 2013
UK
Hi guys,

I have become very deeply interested in history and was hoping some of you can help me out with some information. I search around for a few hours every few days for weeks now but have not been able to find what I'm looking for.

There is something I'm really confused about and maybe it is my weak understanding which is in the way.

As far as I'm aware, after the Egyptian civilisation (Pharaohs etc) came to an end, there started the Greek civilisation, and after that, the Roman civilisation, correct?

I've been reading so much that all the information I'm taking in has confused me. I don't know if some of these civilisations existed at the same time? Such as the Roman Empire and the Greeks? I've also read that Alexander the Great conquered Egypt and married Cleopatra? Maybe a lot of what I'm saying is wrong.

I appreciate and thank you for the help.

Salah

Forum Staff
Oct 2009
Maryland
I'm not an expert on ancient Egypt by any means, but it ranks as one of the world's oldest civilizations. It was ruled by native pharaohs of various dynasties, but then became a province of other empires - variously the Assyrians, Persians, Greeks, and Romans.

Greek civilization essentially begins with the Mycenaean and Minoan cultures. Greece was a collection of city-states (Athens and Sparta being the most famous) that tended to look out for their own interests. It was only under Philip and his son Alexander, rulers of Macedonia, that Greece was first politically united.

It was Alexander who conquered the sprawling Persian Empire - essentially, the Middle East and Central Asia as we modernly know them. With his death, however, his empire fragmented between his generals. This marked the beginning of the 'Hellenistic' period, when Greek culture was spread throughout the ancient world - from Spain to India - but there was constant warfare between bickering warlords, kingdoms, and leagues.