Foucault and theoretical approaches to history

Mar 2010
New Orleans, LA (well in August anyway)
As an undergrad, I double majored in both history and English, and most of my cultural theory grounding comes from literary studies. As I am about start my MA/PhD coursework in history, I am wondering why historians have been generally so reluctant to take more theoretical approaches to the subject. I think everyone by now accepts that the study of history is an interpretive field and not scientific. Am I missing something. Also I think this could naturally evolve into a discussion of foucault, so what do you think of his theories of language structuring reality and systems of order, etc.?

Toltec

Ad Honorem
Apr 2008
Hyperborea
I do tend to agree with you, "evidence is everything" these days in history and theoretical historians like AJP Taylor (whom I like) are really out of fashion.

The problem with an evidence based approach to history is of course the evidence is incomplete and subjective and the further back in time you go totally innadequate. However the scientific mentality of we must accept what the evidence points to until more evidence comes along is the trend at the moment. Pointing out to a historian as to a scientist, that in areas of little knowledge this is a poor methodology because, the knowledge is only temporarily true, soon new evidence will come along and replace it, so why believe it now, is a form of heresy. It's dumb but it's science.

Dec 2009