how is the situation of an historian in your country?

Jun 2018
Naples, Italy
Although in my country, Italy, people who have an humanist degree should get by only with culture (italy is plenty of monuments, history, churches, libraries etc., in every single corner), the situation isn't properly in this way. After i graduated, i came across many difficulties, firstly the unclear system of recruitment to become teacher (as me, others 600.000 people in my country are looking forward the national competition). Also To become a tourist guide we have to wait our regions which after several years announce a test, but it seems always a false promise. Accademic career is only for wealthy people, you have to start with PHD, and in italian university it's pointless to try it if you don't have any backing. Even though you win a phd, the wage is very low, it's difficult to live on your own, and after three years, you are nobody for the university, but in the meanwhile you are older and without a job experience. Besides, in italy, have a phd in medieval history, for example, it's like to have an useless piece of paper (as useless as your degree in History). So, i'd like to know how the situation in your country is, better or worse?

Dec 2011
I cannot really say whether the situation in my country is better than it is in Italy. In general, though, I would say that many history students decide to go into history with either false expectations or for the wrong reasons.