How Many History Buffs with Historical Homes?

Feb 2019
Pennsylvania, US
Just wondering if you guys are like me - in love with historical homes and the history to each particular one. Do you own or adore a particular historical home? Have any photos of your home or neat historical elements still intact? Was your home built or owned at one time by a a particular notable historical figure?

Usually I nearly crash my car ogling at the older homes as I drive around in historical areas... wondering who built them, if they are still somewhat original inside or completely modernized... this is a safer alternative! :lol:

royal744

Ad Honoris
Jul 2013
San Antonio, Tx
I’m an architect, now retired. My former office is still practicing and has somewhere around 40 people. Much of our practice was in historic preservation. We have restored hundreds of buildings, including the 18th c Spanish Colonial Missions of San Antonio and the Texas State Capitol in Austin. Historic Preservation is a field that is growing by leaps and bounds. When we started in historic preservation no one else was doing it. Architects ‘disdained’ working with older buildings.

Historic houses present similar challenges to historic commercial or institutional buildings. Most of our oldest houses that we restored were often built out of limestone with metal roofs. Porches were added built out of wood and painted in historic colors. As time passed, older houses came to be built using “balloon framing” out of wood because wood is just about the cheapest way to build small 1-3 (or more) story houses in America (and Canada). Brick and stone veneer construction overlaid on wood stud framing was/is common.

Feb 2019
Pennsylvania, US