Is cultural Marxism even Marxism at all?

Nov 2014
ph
Is cultural Marxism fake Marxism? I mean cultural Marxism and the Frankfurt school is associated with hippies and SJW ideologiy. While economic Marxism is about abolishment of private property and wholesale elimination of capitalism, and the USSR was socially conservative, even more so in some areas than say, Iran. And social Marxism and SJW seems to have to problem allowing capitalists to make money, unlike economic Marxists, and in fact could be describe as an informal ideological alliance between social liberals and pro corporate capitalist conservatives, like Amazon and Starbucks. And compared to economic Marxism, cultural Marxism is inherently less disruptive to capitalism and making money.

AlpinLuke

Ad Honoris
Oct 2011
Lago Maggiore, Italy
As for I remember from when I studied political economy, I would say that Marxism is a political, social and economical theory, while "cultural marxism" was and is for the ones who still follows it, a political, social and economical philosophy. I remember that someone in Italy defined the Frankfurt school a phisolophical club made by "communist idealists".

Recusant

Ad Honorem
Sep 2009
Sector N after curfew
The "Cultural Marxism" conspiracy theory fails to establish a fundamental link between the Frankfurt School and movements that the conspiracy theorists claim to be expressions of "Cultural Marxism." Opposition to racism, the women's rights movement, the gay rights movement and efforts to promote social equality in general do not have their roots in the Frankfurt School and in most cases precede its ideas by at least several decades.

Attempts to "blame" the existence and success of such movements on the Frankfurt School are historically illiterate. "Cultural Marxism" is an illusory bogey-man promoted for political ends, hearkening back to the kulturbolsjevism of the Nazis.

It's not so much "fake Marxism" as it is a fake, full stop.

Last edited:

Rodger