Life sentence/imprisonment

Oct 2017
America ??
Let’s discuss the concept & punishment of life sentence & imprisonment.
Particularly without parole (LWOP - Life without parole), which is most true to the term I suppose.

While death sentence & penalty was all too common historically, the concept & punishment of life imprisonment is historically recent, having been around no earlier than the previous century it seems. There’s really not many historical precedents to it, the only I can think of is slavery, & mutilation is sort of halfway that, yes those were greatly evil themselves. Yet life sentence & imprisonment, particularly without parole, is something humans are definitely not designed for, even less than death sentence possibly, since we have innate fears of death & danger & all. Life sentence, particularly without parole, must bring out all sorts of negative emotions to those condemned to it.
As a biologist, I wonder whether other animals would be just as psychologically un-designed for this sentence as well, for example if we could somehow tell intelligent animals like apes, dolphins & crows that they are to be locked up in their enclosure for the rest of their life, or forever if they can’t understand death. Wouldn’t that make an interesting experiment?

The aim of this sentence is to be a humane alternative to the death penalty. It’s aims & origins largely revolve around modern concepts of the sanctity of life & in-humaneness of killing. Most people don’t actually know or think much about it, have probably only heard of it marginally, & have a lock ‘em up n’ throw away the key mentality. Yet it may not be as lenient as it appears. It has been nicknamed “the other death penalty” & “the slow death penalty’.