Looking for help for the right PhD in Medieval West Africa

Feb 2019
New York, NY
Hi all,

I'm looking for help in finding scholars expert in Medieval West Africa. I'm currently in my first year of a Masters in History, and unfortunately my school doesn't offer an Africana concentration. So I'm having a hard time finding PhD programs whose faculty have interest in Medieval West Africa. I am aware of Dr. Michael Gomez, and have reached out to him, but beyond him and big schools like Yale, Harvard, and Princeton, I'm not sure where else to look. All suggestions welcomed!

PS: I am not sure yet of the exact direction I want my PhD to go, but I have a deep interest in the scholastic tradition of Medieval Mali, from Empire of Ghana to the fall of Songhay. Also, I am in the US, and schools on the East Coast would be preferable.

Thanks!

Jul 2019
Ghana
Maybe check out this project:
I believe they work together with the University of Cape Town, South Africa, which houses some of the manuscripts.

I don't know the current state of the Ahmed Baba Institute in Timbuktu on account of the Al Qaeda attacks in 2012 and 2013, but I'd consider going there if it's safe enough. Alternatively, a very large number of manuscripts were shipped to Bamako prior to and during the attacks on Timbuktu. There's a manuscript library in Djenne as well.

Reactions: askan and Futurist

Frank81

Ad Honorem
Feb 2010
Canary Islands-Spain

Futurist

Ad Honoris
May 2014
SoCal
Maybe check out this project:
I believe they work together with the University of Cape Town, South Africa, which houses some of the manuscripts.

I don't know the current state of the Ahmed Baba Institute in Timbuktu on account of the Al Qaeda attacks in 2012 and 2013, but I'd consider going there if it's safe enough. Alternatively, a very large number of manuscripts were shipped to Bamako prior to and during the attacks on Timbuktu. There's a manuscript library in Djenne as well.