Academic Guidance Oxford University?

Jan 2019
Montreal, QC
Hello all,

I don't know if there are many career historians on here, but I've had a dream for quite some time that I'd like to get feedback on. I'm currently a 2nd year history student at Concordia University (AKA, that other university in Montreal that's not McGill). I'm in an Honours program, with a 3.92 GPA out of 4.00. I'm on track to get my B.A and B.Th (Arts and Theology, respectively) in late 2020/spring of 2021. I plan on doing my Masters at Concordia as well, because my adviser is superb. I want to, however, push on to get my PhD, preferably at a school in England. My historical expertise is in 17th century England, but more specifically, the reigns of Charles II and James II (1660-1690). Perhaps it's too early to be planning at this point, but would it be feasible for me to get a Rhodes for my doctoral studies? How would one suggest that I go about this? Oxford obviously has a superb history and divinity/theology faculty, so it would be perfect for me. I'm also quite a huge fan of Cecil Rhodes, so it's a win-win situation.

Thank you for your help.

-DoY

PS: Despite what some people have had to say about me on this humble forum, I am a successful, good, and legitimate historian-in-training. Doing well is the best revenge.

Kirialax

Ad Honorem
Dec 2009
Blachernai