Parallels between British and Japanese history

May 2012
UK
Two island nations at opposite ends of the world. Has this affected their history or culture? If so, we should find parallels between them, distinct from the larger, continental culture of the neighbouring mainland.

Unfortunately I'm no expert on Japanese history. From the little I know, it seems it was under the political domination of China at about the same time Britain was under the poltical rule of the Roman Empire. Later, it experienced various invasions which influenced its culture and religion, and then experienced a long period of gradual consolidation of a unified state. The largest ethnic group there has formed the dominant culture, but it is by no means the only ethnic group there, and there has been warfare between them in the past. It is intensely conservative but also, paradoxically, very good at adopting and inventing new ideas. It really, really doesn't like surrendering in a fight. It has had something of a checkered history with its closest neighbour, including very long periods of occupying it.

Mangekyou

Ad Honorem
Jan 2010
UK
The only parallel that comes to mind is the Naval aspects. Japan modelling its imperial navy on a British model. Other than that, they were opposites in almost every respect afaik. Japan was insular, whereas Britain was the opposite.

Clodius

Ad Honorem
Jun 2011
They both seem very hierarchical and status-conscious societies, which is an interesting parallel.

Naomasa298

Forum Staff
Apr 2010
T'Republic of Yorkshire
This is a subject on which I'm in a reasonable position to comment on.

Speaking firstly of the histories of pre-modern Japan and Britain, although there are some parallels, there are more differences than not. I'll address the specific points in Maia's OP first.