Stilwell's conflict with Chiang

Sep 2016
France
I'm only beginning to read a bit about the Chinese front during WW2 and there seems to be very different narratives.

From an American point of view, which we mostly get from Stilwell's assertions, the KMT was just a big corrupted mess that was unwilling to actually fight the Japanese.
But recently, some studies paint Chiang Kai-shek more favourably, taking into account his political situation in China.

With hindsight, who was in the right? Was Stilwell correct to concentrate on Burma? Or was Chennaiult right when he wanted to develop the Chinese air force and the airlift?

I tend to think Stilwell was a complete idiot, but perhaps I'm wrong on that one.

Sep 2012
Tarkington, Texas
Chennault was the idiot. He sold Chiang on airpower. To have airpower you need airbases. He persuaded the Army Air Forces to build airbases in unoccupied China so they could bomb Japan. As soon as the Japanese Army realized this, they invaded East China and took all the new air bases. Chiang and all his cronies benefitted from the construction (graft) and then proved unable to stop the Japanese.

The Nationalist Chinese were a favorite of FDR. He wanted them to survive, but was vulnerable to Chiang and his in-laws. Chiang and the various Chinese War Lord allies of his had over 300 poorly equipped Infantry Divisions. The best of these were about the size of American Regiments. The commanders stole rations and pay when they were not selling equipment and fuel.

Stilwell had his foibles. He hated the British and he hated Chiang and his friends. He was chosen to go to China because he spoke Chinese and had served in China in the 30's. How many of the American Generals could have retreated North through Burma and then turned West and marched across a Jungle and Mountain Range?

Pruitt

Chlodio

Forum Staff
Aug 2016
Dispargum