Teaching German History - Reading Suggestions

Dec 2016
Italy
Hi all,

I'm a high school history teacher about to start teaching Nazi Germany, and I'm looking for suggestions for books I could read to help me prepare. I'm already halfway through Kershaw's great Hitler biography, and I'm going to read Shirer's Rise and Fall of the Third Reich over Christmas. What I'm looking for right now is general, pre-twentieth century, information about Germany, from the medieval age up to the world wars. I like to start my students with a whistle-stop tour of how we arrived at the start of our area of study.

I found two texts that looked good: Iron Kingdom, by Christopher Clark, for a history of Prussia, and the Cambridge Concise History of Germany. I'm looking for guidance now. Are these books any good (one is a little long)? Do I even need a separate book on Prussia to understand German history?

And most importantly, do you have any alternative suggestions?

Thanks,

Martin

Last edited:
Apr 2016
Iowa, USA
My favorites include:

"German Knighthood, 1050-1300," by Benjamin Arnold
"Armies of Bismarck's Wars: The Army of Prussia-History, Uniforms and Equipment, 1860-1867," by Bruce Basset Powell
"Medieval Civilization in Germany," by Franz Bauml
"Society and Politics in Germany: 1500-1750," by G. Benecke
"History of Germany, 1780-1918: The Long Nineteenth Century," by David Blackbourn
"The Revolution of 1525: The German Peasants' War from a New Perspective," by Peter Blickle, Thomas A. Brady Jr., & H.C. Erik Midelfort
"Shylock in Germany: Antisemitism and the German Theatre from the Enlightenment to the Nazis," by Andrew G. Bonnell
"Fearless Wives & Frightened Shrews: The Construction of the Witch in Early Modern Germany," by Sigrid Brauner
"Popular Culture in Early Modern Europe," by Peter Burke
"Princes and Parliaments in Germany: From the Fifteenth to the Eighteenth Century," by F.L. Carsten