Vikings in the Desert ! ?? America Unearthed May 28

Oct 2014
California
See me show Scott Wolter a petroglyph in Baja California that may show a Viking ship sailed off the coast of Baja California. Scott first looks at a Viking artifact found in Arizona. Then searches for a Viking ship in California's desert. Finally, I join the tv crew and take them to a site in Baja I have been visiting since 1974... Tuesday night on the Travel Channel (10 pm Eastern, 9 Central, 7 or 10 Pacific... depending on cable company). Online at ustv247.com if you don't have cable or the Travel Channel.
I wrote an article about doing the show with the America Unearthed TV crew:
TV’s ‘America Unearthed’ Goes to Baja :: Baja Travel Adventures - Baja Bound Insurance

AlpinLuke

Ad Honoris
Oct 2011
Italy, Lago Maggiore
Scott Wolter is a scholar who in some way inverts the process of scientific communication. First of all you need to verify, after investigating, than you communicate. He did the other way round, partially: he communicates while he is still investigating. This works on TV and to gain audience ... it's not so proper for academic environments.

Anyway it's a kind of "fashion" we can note also among academics [remember Reeves and the tomb of Nefertiti beyond a wall of Tut's burial chamber ... he communicated this to the world even before that a scientific team verified his supposition ... and for a couple of years there was an alive expectation to find for real the sarcophagus of the Great Royal Wife of Akhenaten ... with her mummy inside, of course]. Channels like Nat Geo, Discovery, History Channel make business with these kinds of television series.

Oct 2014
California