What can you tell me about the german officer in this picture? (WWII)

Sep 2019
Antioch
I found a picture of a german officer and I'm very curious to find out more about him.
Things like, his army ranking and the significance of the things on his Waffenrock.
Also in which year do you estimate this photo to have been taken?
I would be very happy if anyone could share his/her expertise with me on this matter :drool:

6140ee1d45f5c36b20113877bc117854.jpg

Larrey

Ad Honorem
Sep 2011
I found a picture of a german officer and I'm very curious to find out more about him.
Things like, his army ranking and the significance of the things on his Waffenrock.
Also in which year do you estimate this photo to have been taken?
I would be very happy if anyone could share his/her expertise with me on this matter :drool:

View attachment 22999
I'm a complete noob at these things, but just googling around for 5 minutes seems to indicate he's sporting not just an Iron Cross, but a West Wall Medal, and lower down 4 badges, the Iron Cross Badge, an Infantry Assault Badge, and then... maybe a Wound Badge, and an General Assault Badge? Couldn't say what rank he might be from what's visible in the picture...

Reactions: Shemesh

AlpinLuke

Forum Staff
Oct 2011
Italy, Lago Maggiore
Since Historum is an international forum, we have already made other posters note that the picture of the avatar should be polite and culturally not offensive. There are cultures were a teasing sexy woman can be considered offensive.

As moderator, I suggest you to change the picture in your avatar.

Feb 2019
Serbia
He has an Iron Cross, a Westwall badge, another Iron Cross, an Infantry Assault Badge. The bars on his collar seem to indicate that he's an NCO. I can't make out his rank due his epaluettes but I guess that he's a Staff Sergeant.

Nemowork

Ad Honorem
Jan 2011
South of the barcodes
Looks like Infantry assault badge in silver