What is Stalin's back up plan if Moscow was captured by the Germans?

Feb 2018
Manila
How will the Red Army fight if Moscow was captured and Stalin was not captured?

If Stalin was captured or killed by the Germans during the invasion, do you believe USSR will be part of Nazi Germany?

P.S. I am a newbie here and I expect a nice welcome thanks :)

Chlodio

Forum Staff
Aug 2016
Dispargum
As early as October 1941 Soviet officials were preparing to abandon Moscow and move the government to Kuybyshev, 500 miles farther east. There were also plans to destroy Moscow in a kind of scorched earth operation to deny the Germans any practical use of the city.

"Rezident: The Espionage Odyssey of Soviet General Vasily Zarubin" By Robert K. Baker

https://books.google.com/books?id=HQK9CQAAQBAJ&pg=PT403&lpg=PT403&dq=Big+scram+to+Kuybushev+1941&source=bl&ots=hFT4JkSpY4&sig=KlPPrH0yghuwdCi_m8-NR7qABU4&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjKtbPu8o7ZAhUGjVQKHSoICyYQ6AEINzAF#v=onepage&q=Big%20scram%20to%20Kuybushev%201941&f=false

Aug 2016
US&A
Moscow had little strategic value.

Personally, I wonder how competent Stalin was. Though the soviets suffered much due to his officer purge, he was probably paranoid out of necessity. He was a military innovator, and the adoption of things like heavy tanks and semiautomatic rifles aided the war effort.

Assuming he was somehow captured, which I agree is unlikely, I doubt his successor would be as capable. I wonder if Stalin was like Hitler, in that he made it so things in his country would've had trouble without him?

Aug 2015
uk
It's quite possible - likely even - that if Stalin fled Moscow there would have been a coup. His purges would not be forgiven or forgotten and catching him at such a weak point would be a chance some would not fail to take. After his fall an attempt at a deal with the Germans would not be beyond comprehension.

Jun 2012
Texas