What was the first Civilization?

Jun 2018
Unknown
Hi gays,

I am new in this forum, I am a beginner history student. First I want to know about what was the first Civilization ever lived I am confused someonw said this one is old and someone said that was the oldest. I have to know with the latest research.

hope so forum will be helpful for me.

Thank You!

Jan 2010
Atlanta, Georgia USA
The Mesopotamian Civilization is said by this site to be the oldest:

World History Timeline | Essential Humanities

Wikipedia produces the following:

Bronze Age and Early Iron Age
  • c. 3200 BC: Sumerian cuneiform writing system.
  • 3200 BC: Newgrange built in Ireland.
  • 3200 BC: Cycladic culture in Greece.
  • 3200 BC: Norte Chico civilization begins in Peru.
  • 3200 BC: Rise of Proto-Elamite Civilization in Iran.
  • 3100 BC: Skara Brae in Scotland.
  • 3100 BC: First dynasty of Egypt.
Note the Norte Chico civilization in Coastal Peru:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Norte_Chico_civilization

Jun 2017
Connecticut
Mesopotamia, Egypt, Indus River Valley and China are the four main basins of civilization.

Mesopotamia and Egypt were the most successful. Mesopotamia is older but Egypt rose to greater heights at an earlier date unifying quite early when Mesopotamia wasn't united until far later when the Akkadian Empire came around and not again for awhile after that collapsed.

Nov 2016
Užice, Serbia
Completely depends on what you classify as a civilization. There are many primitive cultures that have emerged since the Neolithic revolution (around 10.000 BC) that could be classified as civilizations, but are simply regarded as "cultures". I'd personally say that a civilization is differentiated from a culture by a clearly defined societal structure and system of governance, and by that definition Sumerian city states constitute the oldest civilization on the planet.