What's the reason for spending money and time on studying ancient times?

Aug 2016
China
Hi everyone,

I know this is a silly question, but when somebody asks me why I'm studying ancient history I could only say 'just for fun'. Although this is the reason I'm studying history, I wonder is there another good explanation which justifies the money and time that I've spent on this subject.

I know a popular reason for studying history is that history could helps us understand the modern society, and even predict the future, but it seems not many people believe this and even I'm skeptical to this view.

So I want to know what do you think about the significance of studying ancient history.

Jun 2017
Connecticut
Hi everyone,

I know this is a silly question, but when somebody asks me why I'm studying ancient history I could only say 'just for fun'. Although this is the reason I'm studying history, I wonder is there another good explanation which justifies the money and time that I've spent on this subject.

I know a popular reason for studying history is that history could helps us understand the modern society, and even predict the future, but it seems not many people believe this and even I'm skeptical to this view.

So I want to know what do you think about the significance of studying ancient history.
You shouldn't be ashamed of studying history just for fun, it's awesome and it can have a ton of more benefits more than enjoyment.