Who had bigger impact – the ostro(goths) on the Italian Peninsula or the slavs on Balkans?

Apr 2017
U.S.A.
This seems mostly one sided. The slavs changed the ethnicity, language, religion and political makeup of the Balkans; whereas the Ostrogoth have relatively little impact on Italy by themselves.

Nov 2010
Cornwall
The Ostrogoths were a powerful but very transitory thing, very transitory indeed. In fact, though I'm not an expert on Italy, did they have much of a legacy apart from the tomb of Theodoric the Great and his artwork? Their demise was farily comprehensive.

Slavs are still there in the Balkans aren't they?

Feb 2015
south Slavic guy
According to Hitler's theory the goths were the great conquirors and slavs were turf, deprived people.

Yet Slavs contributed to the creation of 6.. or 7 modern states on the Balkans. Ostrogoths invaded most of what is today Italy, but not for a long period of time. Then they were driven off from the peninsula as far as I know. Althought the tricky thing here might be that the Slavs have been under foreign influence for most of their history while the Ostrogoths were the ruling class and were more organized.

As an overall impact though, Slavs still remained a big factor on the Balkans that had long lastic effect on the Peninsula to this day.

I'm not sure what provinces could be considered Gothic in Italy?

Nov 2010
Cornwall
According to Hitler's theory the goths were the great conquirors and slavs were turf, deprived people.

Yet Slavs contributed to the creation of 6.. or 7 modern states on the Balkans. Ostrogoths invaded most of what is today Italy, but not for a long period of time. Then they were driven off from the peninsula as far as I know. Althought the tricky thing here might be that the Slavs have been under foreign influence for most of their history while the Ostrogoths were the ruling class and were more organized.