Worst Military Ever? Austria-Hungary?

Oct 2016
Merryland
so what nation had a horrible military / tradition?
I'm thinking Austria-Hungary / Hapsburgs. Lost WWI, lost to the Prussians, almost always lost to Napoleon.

I'm not an expert in this field so feedback welcome.

was their military that bad?

is there another major nation/state with a worse record?

having said that, props to Archduke Charles, first general to defeat Napoleon (Battle of Aspern-Essling). Certainly the greatest military leader of his Empire

martin76

Ad Honorem
Dec 2014
Spain
Austria beat everybody: Italians, French, Prussians, Russians, Ottomans,
You should read the life of Prinz Eugen or battles as Kolin or Hochkirch or Prague...

Apr 2015
Texas
A few hours ago I watched a YouTube documentary where the question was asked: is France REALLY a military loser?

DISCLAIMER: I'm the first to admit that YouTube has some interesting documentaries, but should not be your primary source of historical information.

Anyway back on topic:
The author makes the correct assertion that all nations have their ups and downs.
But he does compare a 500 year streak of military wins or loses and Austria does come behind many European nations.

martin76

Ad Honorem
Dec 2014
Spain
A few hours ago I watched a YouTube documentary where the question was asked: is France REALLY a military loser?

DISCLAIMER: I'm the first to admit that YouTube has some interesting documentaries, but should not be your primary source of historical information.

Anyway back on topic:
The author makes the correct assertion that all nations have their ups and downs.
But he does compare a 500 year streak of military wins or loses and Austria does come behind many European nations.
Mr Scaeva is right.

Austria, as every country, had ups and downs. And of course It is not the worst military history as thread says.