Zahi Hawass as an Author

Otranto

Ad Honorem
May 2013
Netherlands
First, I hope he is doing well and, with the regime of the Muslim Brotherhood out of the way (for now), will not be anymore persecuted.

Watching him as a teenager on the Discovery Channel in the late 90's, I always thought he was a fascinating character, so full of passion, and back then made history interesting for me. Obviously he is a great entertainer, but how good is he as an author and historian?

I am a novice when it comes to Egyptian history. The Rise and Fall of Ancient Egypt by Toby Wilkinson has been the most detailed book I've read about Egypt. Now I'm looking for a light and accurate read. Is Hawass a good candidate? Which of his books can you recommend?

Ancientgeezer

Ad Honorem
Nov 2011
The Dustbin, formerly, Garden of England
First, I hope he is doing well and, with the regime of the Muslim Brotherhood out of the way (for now), will not be anymore persecuted.

Watching him as a teenager on the Discovery Channel in the late 90's, I always thought he was a fascinating character, so full of passion, and back then made history interesting for me. Obviously he is a great entertainer, but how good is he as an author and historian?

I am a novice when it comes to Egyptian history. The Rise and Fall of Ancient Egypt by Toby Wilkinson has been the most detailed book I've read about Egypt. Now I'm looking for a light and accurate read. Is Hawass a good candidate? Which of his books can you recommend?
Hawass has taken over Egyptology. Everyone who wants to excavate or even study in Egypt must go through Hawass. All discoveries must be announced by Hawass and people who cross him are denied future access, nit only to antiquities, but to the country. He is reported to "write" articles for National Geographic in return for $200,000 per year honorarium, but how much is actually his own work has been debated.